Hurricane Season

Published August 26, 2011 by Iniysa

I watch in wonder, curiosity, excitement as the great storm moves. I close my eyes and pray that everyone makes it out okay in NYC and everywhere the storm hits, then at the same time wish desperately that I was there! Born, raised and having never lived anywhere away from Houston, Texas; I have been in my share of hurricanes without a doubt. Down here we have hurricane parties and wait for it with smiles and excitement. But for the life of me, I have never heard of a hurricane hitting New York! I’m sure one has before, but nothing comes to mind. Is the great island hurricane proofed? Were the buildings built and maintained for these great storms? Did the people closest to the water build their homes above ground? Here, we are prepared for the heavy winds, flooding and torrential rain. We stock up on perishable foods, flashlights and the most important thing of all, battery-powered electronics (FANS!). The wort part of the hurricane for me, is the lack of power (A/C!) for weeks on end.

But what of New York? Are you prepared?  buckle down, enjoy the ride, (the first is always scary.) And most importantly, stay safe!! Good luck and see you on the other side.

Leave a Reply

