Running the Tests

Published June 21, 2012 by Iniysa

So I was all set to go to the clinic to get my cholesterol run, but then I went to the bank. Faced with just enough money to pay my bills, I had to do some quick thinking. Then out of no where I had the answer. Give blood! I haven’t been able to do that in a while because I have been getting my vaccinations so that I can go to school.  But I had procrastinated in getting the next one long enough that it was now safe to give blood! The only problem is that it can’t be a fasting test, being in order for them to take the amount of blood they need, means I would have to have a nice meal before hand. (And I did!) So off to the blood center I went, passed all the tests I have to pass in order to donate then got good news! My veins are deep, so it takes work for a needle to find a good vein. But my phlebotomist found a great one and told me that I could donate platelets next time! So she ran a platelet count and it was 360,000; which is a 100,000 over the required amount to donate. 🙂

From the blood center I made my way to the pharmacy where I received my second MMR (Measles, Mumps, Rubella)  vaccine. The pharmacist wasn’t sure if she should give it to me since I could not prove if I had gotten it as a young child. If I had, then this would be my third dose; and your only supposed to get two in your life. But my paperwork required that I prove two doses, and if I did get it as a child I don’t know where, by who, when or even have the records for it. So she called the CDC, and they told her it would be alright but I might have a severe reaction. GREAAAAT. But my paper work is all signed off and now all I have left is my second Varicella (Chickenpox) Vaccination and a TB skin test.

So back on task. I should be getting my test results soon, and I will post them here. I need to put batteries in my scale and post my weight, then begin trying to figure out how I am going to take pictures, for the before shot. In the meantime I am cleaning! I’ll be back with the results soon!

Leave a Reply

